3D Models Related Images

Sagittal View of the Insular Region

Surgical Correlation


Sagittal view of the insular region. The insula’s boundary is formed by three sulci: the inferior limiting sulcus separates the insula from the superior temporal gyrus, the superior limiting sulcus separates the insula from the frontal and parietal operculum, and the anterior limiting sulcus which separates the anterior insula from the basal operculum of the orbital gyrus. The posterior insular point is the point at which the superior and inferior limiting sulci meet, and the anterior insular point the point at which the anterior and superior limiting sulci meet. The caudate nucleus courses along the inner curve of the lateral ventricle, with its head located just superior to the anterior commissure and the tail of the caudate from the atrium to the temporal horn. (Image courtesy of AL Rhoton, Jr.)

You are leaving the Neurosurgical Atlas

Full 3D Models are available outside the Neurosurgical Atlas through an Atlas Meditech subscription.

You can make a difference: donate now. The Neurosurgical Atlas depends almost entirely on your donations: donate now.